Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science – Background

The Faculty of Science was established in July 1995 with three departments:

• Educational Foundation and Psychology
• Mathematics
• Physics

The above departments offer two year masters program by course work and dissertation.
In 1998 the departments of Biology and Chemistry were established to complete the entire spectrum of basic sciences.
In October, the certifcate and diploma in Science Laboratory Technology programs were started. These programs aimed at addressing the critical needs of skills and expertise in general laboratory practice.

Faculty Objectives:

To train science teachers in response to the acute shortage of science teachers country wide
To contribute to the development of technical skills at both national and international level by stimulating interests in the study of science subjects
To develop relevant human resurce for re-awakening and sustaining local interest in science
To contribute to knowledge through cutting-edge research projects in basic and applied sciences