Happy Holidays

Mbarara University of Science and Technology wishes its students, staff, alumni and well wishers a happy festive break and a prosperous 2016, We thank you all for the continued support.

Bio-Diversity Conference held in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest

Every year since 2008, MUST’s Institute of Tropical Forest Conservation (ITFC) and the Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA)hold a research dissemination workshop together with conservation partners (Bwindi Trust, International Gorilla Conservation program, Greater Virunga Trans boundary Secretariat and others).

MUST Launches $3.2m Research Initiative

MUST has launched the 5 year Mbarara University Research Initiative (MURTI), a program aimed at building the research capacity of junior academic staff at the university. The initiative shall emphasize research expertise in the areas of HIV/AIDS, Cardiovascular diseases, neurological disorders and mental health in rural south western Uganda.

The Launch ceremony was held on Thursday 19th November 2015 at the Lake View Hotel, Mbarara and presided over by the university chancellor, Prof. Peter Mugyenyi.

Launching MURTI @ MUST

The Mbarara University Research Training Initiative (MURTI) shall be launched on Thursday 19th November 2015 at Lake View Hotel, Mbarara starting at 9:00 am.

This initiative is aimed at building the research capacity of junior academic staff at MUST.

Targeted areas will be;

  • HIV
  • Cardiovascular Disease
  • Neurological Disorders
  • Mental Health

MUST's New University Secretary

Mr. Lawrence Pac Mujuni Mpitsi has officially taken office as MUST's second University Secretary (U.S). He replaces the pioneer U.S, Dr. Charles Kibirige, who recently retired.

Mr. Mujuni brings a rich academic and service background to MUST.

SIDA PHASE 4 Scholarships

Project number: 346-2014

Project title: Towards better treatment of infectious diseases in children in rural Uganda. Better diagnostics and algorithms for increased quality of care, rational use of medicines and minimized antimicrobial resistance
Scholarship Criteria for Masters of Science in Clinical Pharmacology (2 positions available):
1. Possession of Bachelors degree in Medicine and Surgery, Pharmacy, Nursing, Dental Surgery, or Biomedical sciences or equivalent from a recognized university

Assoc. Prof. C.T Kazooba is the Pioneer DVC- Finance and Admin

Associate Prof. Charles Tushobomwe-Kazooba has been appointed as MUST's pioneer Deputy Vice Chancellor (Finance and Administration).

MUST's Oweta is Uganda's Academic Pharmacist of 2015

Our very own Joseph Noah Openy Oweta , a lecturer in the Pharmacy Department, has been recognized as the " Academic Pharmacist of the Year 2015" by the Council of the Pharmaceutical Society of Uganda.

The Council of the Pharmacetical Society of Uganda is the regulatory body for pharmacy in Uganda. It is committed to recognising professionalism, commitment,  excellence and achievement across various sectors of the pharmacy profession, including academia.

11th Annual Research Dissemination Conference

Evidence has shown that development challenges and solutions are multifaceted and so require interventions which are interdisciplinary in nature.  An interdisciplinary approach to research and community development provides a systematic, comprehensive theoretical framework for the definition and analysis of the social, economic, political, environmental and institutional factors influencing society and human transformation. Interdisciplinary research requires researchers to leave their familiar disciplinary territories and enter unfamiliar intellectual spaces.

Convocation awards Prof. F.I.B Kayanja

The Convocation of Mbarara University of Science and Technology on Friday 2nd October 2015 recognized the university's pioneer administrators for dedicated service to the university. At a colorful ceremony held at the Kihumuro Campus and presided over by the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Celestino Obua, convocation recognized the university's pioneer Vice Chancellor, Prof. Frederick Ian Bantubano Kayanja; the pioneer Academic Registrar, Mr. Stephen Bazirake; the pioneer University Secretary, Dr. Charles Kyanda Kibirige and the pioneer student's custodian, Mr.