Call for Nominations for Position of Chancellor

Call for Nominations of Chancellor

Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST) is the 2nd oldest Public University in Uganda established by an Act of Parliament of the Republic of Uganda in 1989 and with a vision “to be a centre of academic and professional excellence in Science and technology”.

The University has both undergraduate and graduate programs with a unique approach to training which emphasizes acquaintance to rural and grass root delivery systems and skills.

The University Council has started the process of searching for a Chancellor, who under section 30(2) and (3) of the Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions Act is the titular head and presides over University ceremonies as well as confers degrees and other academic titles and distinctions of the University.

The Chancellor is appointed for a four (4) year period and is eligible for re-appointment for one more term.

The new Chancellor will replace Prof. Peter Ndimbirwe Mugyenyi whose term ends in August 2017.

The University Council therefore invites stakeholders and members of the public to nominate persons, who meet the following criteria for consideration for appointment to the position of Chancellor. The proposed candidate should:

  1. be a citizen of the republic of Uganda;
  2. be fifty (50) years of age and above at the time of the nomination;
  3. be a distinguished professional in the field of Science and Technology;
  4. have organizational leadership experience in executive or top management roles in either the public of private sector;
  5. have strong public relations with the ability to engage stakeholders nationally and internationally.

Nomination procedure

Download Nomination Form Here

Nominations should be submitted using the nomination form, together with a CV of the nominee to the University Secretary/ Secretary to Council by email to or the postal address of Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST), P.O Box 1410, Mbarara not later than 14th July 2017.